Webinar on Canadian Credit Unions

The Young Scholars Initiative Working Groups on Co-operatives and Co-operation and on Financial Stability are delighted to announce their second webinar

Can Credit Unions Survive without Greater Co-operation?

Presentation by Dionne Pohler
Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources, University of Toronto
Centre for the Study of Co-operatives, University of Saskatchewan

 

Friday, 2 February 2018
10–11 am EST / 4–5 pm CET / 8:30-9:30 pm IST
To access the webinar, please click here


 

Abstract

The Canadian credit union system is facing unprecedented challenges, and credit union leaders are struggling with how to structure their governance arrangements, not only within their own organizations but also at the system level. Dionne Pohler will highlight the efficiency-autonomy trade-off that is present in co-operation among credit unions. Credit unions need to identify a way to co-operate if they are to remain strong and effective organizations. This co-operation, and the efficiencies that it will create, cannot be achieved without first developing specific governance norms that will allow credit unions to give up some of their autonomy. Dr. Pohler will outline six design principles that could guide the development of these norms and encourage greater co-operation among credit unions.

Read more here.